The Intelligent & Relentless Pursuit of Muscle™
Author: Ben Bruno

Are Bulgarian Squats Superior to Regular Squats?
by Ben Bruno | Thu, Sep 19, 2013

Could the Bulgarian squat be better than the King of Exercises? Ben Bruno makes his case.

Dynamic Drop Sets For Size
by Ben Bruno | Tue, Sep 03, 2013

Drop sets are as old as the barbell but they work. Here's a new and brutal way to perform this classic technique.

Hamstring Hell: Sliding Leg Curls
by Ben Bruno | Tue, Aug 13, 2013

Sliding leg curls look easy... until you try them. For brutally fast hypertrophy gains, they're hard to beat.

Grow or Die: Quad Finishers
by Ben Bruno | Wed, Aug 07, 2013

Here are 6 painful finishers to hammer the quads into growth while sparing your knees.

Complexes Made Simple
by Ben Bruno | Tue, Jul 30, 2013

Follow these 10 principles and design your own smart, efficient complexes that burn fat and build muscle.

5 Tips From The Trenches
by Ben Bruno | Wed, Jul 10, 2013

In-the-trenches coach Ben Bruno talks fat-grip work, recognizing training bias, and the power of the Dead-Squat Bar.

7 Brutal New Upper Body Exercises
by Ben Bruno | Mon, Jul 01, 2013

Chest, shoulders, and triceps stopped growing? Here are seven new ways to blast them.

10 Challenging New Ways to Chin up and Row
by Ben Bruno | Wed, Jun 12, 2013

Masochistic new variations of the chin-up and row to smash your plateaus and build a brick-wall back.

Get Bigger and Stronger, Even Banged Up
by Ben Bruno | Thu, Jun 06, 2013

Losers use injuries as excuses to be lazy. Winners find ways to work around them. Here are 17 tips for wounded winners.

Rack Hip Thrusts
by Ben Bruno | Thu, May 30, 2013

Hips thrusts are ridiculous looking and uncomfortable. But they're also highly effective. Here's a better way to do them.

Improve Your Pull Instantly
by Ben Bruno | Wed, May 08, 2013

All this redundant deadlift info on the Internet is like living the weight-training version of Groundhog Day. Here, however, is a fresh tip for getting a bigger pull.

Ultimate Hamstring Movement
by Ben Bruno | Wed, Apr 24, 2013

When was the last time you went grocery shopping and had your knees buckle because your hamstrings were too sore? Well, it's time to recreate that moment.

Not Your Average B.S. Core Training
by Ben Bruno | Tue, Apr 16, 2013

9 more vicious exercises to make your core feel like it's been buggered and beaten by a gang of crazed prison escapees. (Not that we know what that feels like.)

Long Live Static Stretching!
by Ben Bruno | Fri, Mar 29, 2013

Static stretching makes you weak, slow, and doesn't improve your flexibility. If you believe that, there's a bridge in Brooklyn you might be interested in.

Nothing Beats Single-Leg Training
by Ben Bruno | Wed, Mar 20, 2013

If you're not performing any single-leg work, you're leaving a lot of size and strength gains on the table. Here's how to get on board the single-leg train.

Ultimate Back Hypertrophy Movement
by Ben Bruno | Mon, Mar 11, 2013

Sometimes injuries are the mother of invention, as was the case when Ben Bruno used a bum knee to discover a back builder of phenomenal potential.

Shoulder Training Tips and Exercises
by Ben Bruno | Tue, Mar 05, 2013

You have a love-hate relationship with the overhead press. You want to do them, but your shoulders say no. Here are 5 exercises that should work just as well.

8 More Training and Recovery Tips
by Ben Bruno | Mon, Feb 18, 2013

T Nation's resident mad scientist returns to talk calf training without machines, sure-fire sleep, pain-free warm-ups, and even hand care for meatheads!

8 Blast Strap Exercises for Serious Upper Body Muscle
by Ben Bruno | Tue, Feb 05, 2013

Blast straps, TRX, and rings are invaluable tools for blasting the muscle in a way you never thought possible.

Not Your Average B.S. Core Training
by Ben Bruno | Mon, Jan 14, 2013

Forget crunches, leg raises, and the latest ab gadget. Here are some unique core exercises that deliver real results, fast.

8 More Random Thoughts and Training Tips
by Ben Bruno | Tue, Dec 18, 2012

Forged from the fires of Mount Randomness come 8 tips to help you get bigger, stronger, leaner, and healthier.

Is Your Leg Strength Up to Snuff?
by Ben Bruno | Wed, Dec 12, 2012

Can you do 220-pound Bulgarian split squats for 6 reps? If not, delete the words "Strong Dude" from your business card.

5 Killer Trap-Bar Deadlift Variations
by Ben Bruno | Thu, Dec 06, 2012

The trap bar is now considered must-have gym equipment. Here are some cool variations to help you get the most out of it.

An Unnamed Single Leg Gem of an Exercise
by Ben Bruno | Mon, Nov 12, 2012

There's no universally recognized name for this exercise, but we think it should be called "That movement that makes my quads bark like a dog."

No to Squats and Barbell Rowing?
by Ben Bruno | Wed, Nov 07, 2012

It's not about being anti-squatting or anti-barbell rowing, it's about being pro-logic. Let your needs and goals dictate your exercise choices.

1 2 3 Next Last